Who Can I Marry?

IMAGE Weaver Quote

Can a person marry someone to whom they are related?

Florida law prohibits a person marrying anyone to whom they are related by lineal consanguinity*. The nearest degree of relations who may legally marry in the state of Florida is first cousins. [*Lineal consanguinity is "the term used to describe the blood relationship between people who descend in a straight line, such as son, father, grandfather." Black's Law Dictionary]

Does one or both of the parties to the marriage have to be U.S. citizens?

No. There is no citizenship or residency requirement to be allowed to marry in the State of Florida.

Can a new marriage license be issued to a minor (under 18 years of age)?

A new marriage license can be issued to a minor or minors ages 16 or 17 years in the State of Florida under the following circumstances:

  • Written consent of parents or legal guardian.
  • Parents are deceased.
  • Minor has been previously married.
  • The age requirement can be waived by a county judge for applicants who can prove they are parents or expectant parents.

If the minor is under age 16 years, regardless of whether or not there is parental permission, a marriage license can only be issued by a county judge.

My spouse-to-be is incarcerated. How can we get married?

Your spouse-to-be must be located in a Florida Correctional Facility and you must obtain written permission to marry from the correctional facility, before you can apply for a new marriage license. For further instructions, please contact the Official Records Department at (813) 276-8100.

Can people obtain a license to marry partners of their own gender?

Yes, persons of the same sex can obtain a marriage license. Effective January 6, 2015, the State of Florida permits couples of the same gender to marry.