CLERK OF COURT & COMPTROLLER

HILLSBOROUGH COUNTY, FLORIDA

Marriage License Department

The Clerk of the Circuit Court acts as an agent for the State of Florida for issuing licenses per Florida Statute 741. The Marriage License Department is here to answer your questions concerning obtaining a marriage license in Hillsborough County. As a public service, the Deputy Clerk may also perform marriage ceremonies.

Marriage License FAQs


What are my options for obtaining customer service from the Clerk's office?

Mail:  P.O. Box 3249, Tampa, FL  33601-3249
Email:  Contact us
Phone:  (813) 276-8100, Ext. 7805.  See wait times.
In person:  Downtown Tampa, Plant City, Brandon, Ruskin (Southshore).  See wait times 

What is needed to apply for and receive a new marriage license?

Both parties must provide proof of all of the following:

  • Age - both parties must be at least 18 years of age.
  • A valid driver's license, state identification card, or passport. 
  • U.S. citizens must provide their social security number.
  • Non-citizens may provide a social security number or an alien registration number issued by Immigration and Naturalization Service.

Complete an application form (provided on the internet or in the office).

  • Note on the application form how and when the previous marriage of both parties ended, if applicable.

Nonrefundable marriage license fee of $86.00.

What methods of payment may I use?

The following methods are acceptable :  cash, money order, traveler's check, credit card, or personal check.

Name and current address must be imprinted on personal checks and a photo ID is required.

Do both parties have to be present to apply for a new marriage license?

Yes.  Both parties must sign the application form and take an oath to the truthfulness of the information provided. This can only be done in person.

Is a blood test required?

No.  Blood tests are not required in Florida.

Is there a waiting period for the issuance of a new marriage license?

There is a three-day waiting period if one or both of the individuals who are marrying is a Florida resident, unless they present a certificate of completion of a premarital preparation course from a qualified registered course provider or a signed statement attesting they have taken a premarital preparation course from a qualified registered course provider. Note: NON-Florida residents do not have a waiting period. See list of registered course providers.

How long is the new marriage license valid?

Florida marriage licenses are valid for 60 days from the effective date. The marriage ceremony must be performed between the effective date and the expiration date on the license within the state of Florida.

Must I apply for a new marriage license in the county where I live?

No.  A marriage license may be applied for and solemnized* in any Florida county.   [*Solemnized, when spoken of in a marriage, means to perform a marriage ceremony before a witness.]

Who may perform marriage ceremonies?

All regularly ordained ministers of the gospel, elders in communion with a church, or other ordained clergy.

He/she is a minister who has been recognized in the manner required by the regulations of the respective denomination to perform marriage ceremonies.

All Florida judicial officers, including retired judicial officers.

Clerks of the Circuit Courts.

Public notaries of the State of Florida.

"Quakers" or "Friends," may perform marriages in the manner and form used or practiced in their societies.

May we get married by a captain aboard a ship?

Yes, if the captain is a notary and the ship is in Florida waters, which is within three geographic miles from the coastline at the time of the ceremony.

May a marriage be solemnized* without a license?

No.  Florida Statute 741.08 states that the party solemnizing* the marriage shall require a properly issued license before performing the ceremony, and within 10 days after the ceremony, he shall make a certificate thereof the license, and shall transmit the same to the office of the county judge or clerk of the circuit court from which it issued. [*Solemnizing, when spoken of in a marriage, means to perform a marriage ceremony before a witness.]

Can I be married in the Clerk's Office?

Yes. Deputy clerks are authorized and available during normal working hours, Monday through Friday, to perform ceremonies. No appointment is necessary. The fee for this service is $30.00. Are you on Facebook? If you decide to get married by the Clerk, you can share your special moment with your family and friends on Facebook Live (live streaming of your wedding on Facebook). This is a free service provided by the Clerk only at its downtown 419 E. Pierce Street location. You must schedule Facebook Live at least three business days in advance by emailing the Clerk's Director of Communications.

Can people obtain a license to marry partners of their own gender?

Yes.  Effective January 6, 2015, couples of the same gender can marry.

Can a person marry someone to whom they are related?

Florida law prohibits a person marrying anyone to whom they are related by lineal consanguinity*. The nearest degree of relations who may legally marry in the state of Florida is first cousins. [*Lineal consanguinity is "the term used to describe the blood relationship between people who descend in a straight line, such as son, father, grandfather." Black's Law Dictionary]

Does one or both of the applicants have to be U.S. citizens?

No. There is no citizenship or resident requirement.

Under what circumstances can a new marriage license be issued to persons 16 or 17 years of age?

  • Written consent of parents or legal guardian.
  • Parents are deceased.
  • Minor has been previously married.
  • The age requirement can be waived by a county judge for applicants who can prove they are parents or expectant parents.

Can an individual who is younger than 16 years get a new marriage license from the Clerk's Office with parental permission?

No. With or without parental permission, a marriage license to anyone under age 16 can only be issued by a county judge.

My spouse-to-be is incarcerated. How can we get married?

Your spouse-to-be must be located in a Florida Correctional Facility and you must obtain written permission to marry from the correctional facility, before you can apply for a new marriage license.  For further instructions, please contact the Official Records Department at (813) 276-8100, extension 7805.

Now that I am married, how do I change my name?

Mail or deliver a certified copy of your marriage license to any agency or place of business that you wish to notify of your name change. For example, bring your certified copy to the Social Security Administration to change your name on your social security card, or to the Department of Motor Vehicles to change your name on your driver's license.

Do we need a license to renew our vows? How do we go about doing this?

No.  The Clerk’s Office does not conduct vow renewal.  Speak to your clergyman, chaplain, or other advisor.

Does Florida recognize common law marriage?

No. Common law marriages entered into after January 1, 1968 are not valid in the state of Florida.

How long does it take to get a copy of our marriage record and how much does it cost?

One certified copy of your marriage certificate will be mailed to the address you provided on your marriage application form within 7 days after the officiator returns the license to Official Records to be recorded. There is no charge for one copy; however, additional certified copies are $3 each.

Where can I view and obtain copies of marriage license records?

Copies of marriage license records and indexes for Hillsborough County from 1846 forward are available for viewing and purchase at the Official Records Library, 419 Pierce Street, Room 140. Marriage license records from 1972 to present are viewable online. Go to Online Search of Official Records, and enter either spouse's name at the time of marriage (Record Type for this search is MAR). There is no charge to view a document in person or online.

If the copy will be used for legal purposes, a certified copy with a raised seal is required. The charge for a certified copy is $3 ($1 per page and $2 to certify the document). Make checks or money orders payable to Clerk of the Circuit Court.

  • Provide both spouses’ names at the time of application (include the maiden name if applicable) and the date of marriage.
  • Walk-in customers receive the document the same day
  • Mail requests are processed within 4-6 business days

Copies may be requested by telephone at (813) 276-8100, ext. 7805, with a credit card.   An additional 3.5% fee is charged by the credit card processing vendor.

Telephone orders are processed within 2-3 business days

Where can I view historical marriage license records online?

  • Indexes and images for marriage license records from 1972 forward are here.

How do I get a copy of divorce records?

The Official Records Index from 1972 to the present is available online. If you do not require a certified copy, search the Official Records online. (Record Type for this search is DRJUD.) 

You may request copies in person paying for them with cash, check, traveler's check, money order or credit card; by mail paying by check or money order; or by phone paying with a credit card. Call our office first to find out what the fees will be before paying by mail; our number is (813) 276-8100, ext. 7805.

When mailing a request, include the name(s) and years to be searched.

There is a charge of $2 for each year searched; $1 per page for copies of the document being requested; and $2 for certifying the document.

The State Office of Vital Statistics also has divorce records for the entire state, and can be reached at (904) 359-6900 or online.

How do I file for a divorce?

You can find out more information about Divorce (Dissolution of Marriage) on the Family Law page.

How do I get an annulment?

You can find out more information about Annulment on the Family Law page.

What are the fees associated with this service?

See Marriage License Fees for more information.