CLERK OF COURT & COMPTROLLER
HILLSBOROUGH COUNTY, FLORIDA
If your letter says that your driver's license was suspended for any reason other than a traffic ticket, you must contact the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles. A driver's license can be suspended because of failure to maintain insurance, failure to pay child support, excessive points, driving under the influence, and being a habitual traffic offender, among other things.
If your letter says your driver's license was suspended because you failed to meet court requirements, it means that the Clerk of Court in the county where the traffic ticket was issued determined that you may have failed to pay the penalty by the due date, may have failed to complete traffic school and submit proof of completion by the due date, may have failed to provide proof of obtaining a driver's license, vehicle registration or insurance when required to do so, or may have failed to appear in court as required.
If your driver's license has been suspended due to failing to meet Hillsborough County court requirements and you possess a Florida driver's license, you may be able to resolve your court requirements and have the Clerk submit your clearance electronically to the Florida Department of Motor Vehicles to reinstate your driver's license.
If you possess an out-of-state (not issued in Florida) driver's license, and you failed to meet a Florida county court's requirements, you may be able to resolve these court requirements. You will receive a copy of your clearance letter within 2 to 3 business days via mail, if you provided the Clerk with a current mailing address. You will then need to submit this letter to your issuing state's driver's license agency.
If you satisfy the court requirements before the suspension date printed on your Order of Suspension, you will not be required to pay additional fees to the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles. If you satisfy the court requirements after the date printed on your Order of Suspension, you will be required to pay a $60 reinstatement fee, in order for the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles to reinstate your driver's license.
If your court requirements were ordered from another Florida county court, you will need to contact that county's clerk to resolve your court requirements. You can look up the court clerks by county here.